European Union

Politics and government of the European Union

Three pillars

Pillar I: <u>European Community</u> Pillar II: <u>Common Foreign and Sec. Policy</u>

Pillar III: Police and Judicial Cooperation

Political Institutions

<u>Commission</u>

President (José Barroso)

Barroso Commission

Council of Ministers & European Council

Presidency (Finland)

Parliament

President

MEPs

Constituencies

Elections

Party groups

Committees

Judiciary

Court of Justice

All the members

Court of First Instance

Civil Service Tribunal

Patent Tribunal

Auditing Finances of European Union

European Court of Auditors

Advisory bodies

Economic and Social Committee

Committee of the Regions

Financial bodies

European Central Bank

European Investment Bank

European Investment Fund

Decentralised bodies

Agencies of the EU

Law

Acquis communautaire

Procedure

Treaties

<u>Regulations</u> - <u>Directives</u> - <u>Decisions</u>

Recommendations - Opinions

EU-related topics

Economic and Monetary Union Enlargement Foreign relations Pan-European political parties Table of affiliated parties by country Party affiliations on the Council

Founding treaties

European integration is at present based on four founding treaties:

- The <u>Treaty of Paris</u>, establishing the <u>European Coal and Steel Community</u>, which was <u>signed</u> on 18 April <u>1951</u>, <u>entered into force</u> on <u>23 July 1952</u> and <u>expired</u> on <u>23 July 2002</u>.
- The Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom)
- The Treaty establishing the <u>European Economic Community</u> (EEC), which was signed along with the Euratom Treaty in <u>Rome on 25 March 1957</u>, and entered into force on <u>1 January 1958</u>. These two Treaties are often referred to as the

"Treaties of Rome". When the term "<u>Treaty of Rome</u>" is used, only the EEC Treaty is meant.

The <u>Treaty on European Union</u>, signed in <u>Maastricht</u> on <u>7 February 1992</u>, entered into force on <u>1 November 1993</u>. It changed the name of the <u>European Economic Community</u> to simply "the <u>European Community</u>" and introduced new intergovermental structures to deal with the aspects of <u>Common Foreign and Security Policy</u> and "Justice and Home Affairs". The structure formed by these so-called <u>Three Pillars</u> is the <u>European Union</u>, whose scope was now more overtly political as well as economic.

Amending treaties

At times there have been far-reaching reforms bringing major institutional changes and introducing new areas of responsibility for the European institutions:

- The <u>Merger Treaty</u>, signed in <u>Brussels</u> on <u>8 April 1965</u> and in force since <u>1 July</u> <u>1967</u>, provided for a Single Commission and a Single Council of the then three <u>European Communities</u>.
- The <u>Single European Act</u>, signed in <u>Luxembourg</u> and <u>The Hague</u> in <u>February</u> <u>1986</u>, and entered into force on <u>1 July 1987</u>, provided for the adaptations required for the <u>achievement</u> of the <u>Internal Market</u> (over which later was formed the <u>European Economic Area</u>).
- The <u>Treaty of Amsterdam</u>, signed on <u>2 October 1997</u>, entered into force on <u>1</u> May 1999.
 - Its purpose was to simplify <u>decision making</u> in addition to further integrating the Common Foreign and Security Policy concept. It also added new provisions on <u>social policy</u> and <u>employment</u> and integrated the <u>Schengen Agreement</u>.
 - It amended and renumbered the EU and EC Treaties. The articles of the <u>Treaty on European Union</u> (the <u>Maastricht</u> Treaty), identified in that document by letters A to S, were changed into numerical form. <u>Consolidated</u> versions of the EU and EC Treaties are attached to it.

- The <u>Treaty of Nice</u>, signed on <u>26 February 2001</u>, entered into force on <u>1</u> <u>February 2003</u>.
 - It readied the EU for further enlargement, setting a <u>cap</u> on the number of <u>MEPs</u> (732) and the <u>European Commission</u> (25). The latter provision meant that larger countries which had previously nominated two commissioners would in future only have one.
 - <u>Qualified Majority Voting</u> was again extended to more areas, abolishing the national right to <u>veto</u> in some areas. A concept of "enhanced cooperation" was introduced for countries wishing to <u>forge</u> closer links in areas where other states disagreed.

Accession treaties

Main article: Enlargement of the European Union

The founding treaties have also been amended (in a more limited fashion) whenever new <u>member states</u> acceded:

- <u>1973</u>: Acts of Accession of <u>Denmark</u>, <u>Ireland</u>, <u>Norway</u> and the <u>United Kingdom</u>, signed in <u>Brussels</u> on <u>22 January 1972</u>. (Norway refused to ratify and did not join the EU.)
- <u>1981</u>: Act of Accession of <u>Greece</u>, signed in <u>Athens</u> on <u>28 May 1979</u>.
- <u>1986</u>: Acts of Accession of <u>Spain</u> and <u>Portugal</u>, signed in <u>Madrid</u> and <u>Lisbon</u> on <u>12 June 1985</u>.
- <u>1995</u>: Acts of Accession of <u>Austria</u>, <u>Sweden</u>, <u>Finland</u> and <u>Norway</u>, signed in <u>Corfu on 24 June 1994</u>. (Norway again failed to ratify.)
- <u>2004</u>: Treaty of Accession 2003 signed in <u>Athens</u> on <u>16 April 2003</u> (Cyprus, <u>Czech Republic</u>, <u>Estonia</u>, <u>Hungary</u>, <u>Lithuania</u>, <u>Latvia</u>, <u>Malta</u>, <u>Poland</u>, <u>Slovenia</u>, <u>Slovakia</u>).
- <u>2007</u> : <u>Treaty of Accession 2005</u> signed in <u>Luxembourg</u>. Treaty not yet ratified by all Member States.

Budgetary treaties

Lastly there have been two budgetary treaties:

- The Budgetary Treaty of 1970 (more fully the "Treaty amending Certain Budgetary Provisions of the Treaties establishing the European Communities and of the Treaty establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities"), signed in Luxembourg on 22 April 1970, gave the European Parliament the last word on what is known as "<u>non-compulsory</u> <u>expenditure</u>". It came into force on <u>1 January 1971</u>.
- The Budgetary Treaty of 1975 (more fully the "Treaty amending Certain Financial Provisions of the Treaty establishing the European Communities and of the Treaty establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities"), signed in <u>Brussels</u> on <u>22 July 1975</u>, gave the European Parliament the power to reject the budget as a whole, and created the <u>European</u> <u>Court of Auditors</u>. It came into force on <u>1 June 1977</u>.

European Constitution

The <u>European Constitution</u> seeks to consolidate, simplify and replace the existing set of overlapping treaties. It was signed on <u>29 October 2004</u> and is due to come into force on <u>1</u> <u>November 2006</u>, conditional on its ratification by all member states, many of which are holding a referendum on the issue.

The French, on May 29th 2005, then the Dutch on 1st June 2005 rejected the treaty therefore probably spelling the death of the constitution. If the Constitution fails to be ratified by all member states, the EU will continue to work on the basis of the current treaties as described above.